First attempt at restoration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First attempt at restoration

this is my first attempt at photo restoration. I've had this old tintype of my 3rd-great grandmother, and I've been wanting to work on it for years, so I finally gave it a go. How did I do? Anything I could do differently or better?

click here

Re: First attempt at restoration

Gorgeous! She has beautiful hands.

I love how you kept her true quality.
    Very professional.

How long did it take you?
    What were the general steps you used to achieve the results?

I may have kept the ring on the right hand.
    She may be wearing a ring on the other also.
    Or not.

You may want to have color rendering of your restoration.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by aartist; 11-17-2009, 05:20 PM.

Comment

Wow...that is awesome. Really lovely job. yes, how long did that take?

Comment

Great job at color rendering! I thought the ring was a mar. I'll have to take a closer look at the original. It would be her wedding band as tintypes are reversed. Not sure how long it took. I've worked on it off & on for the past month. I copied the tintype with cross polarizeing filters. The before photo is without the filters and they helped alot. I used the blue channel to get the detail mainly in the dress. I made a blurred pattern of it and used the pattern clone stamp set to darken to get rid of a lot of the white marks. Used the highpass/gaussian blur to add shape to the face & dress.

Later: I did look closer and that is a ring. I'll have to go back and put it back!
        Last edited by csuebele; 11-17-2009, 06:12 PM.

Comment

Absolutely awesome job.

When doing restoration, it's sometimes amazing what you will see in the details.
          I found the little detail gem in your great-great-grandmother's "bell" ear rings.

Comment

Chuck,
            I would agree, you did an excellent job. The final contrast and tint are very nice.

Comment