Restoring Stains on Color Photo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restoring Stains on Color Photo

I'm working to scan in and restore old family photos. I've spent days researching how to fix specific problems, but I'm having a very difficult time finding information to fix discoloration on a color photograph.

I use Corel Paint Shop Pro X3 and have tried the following:
    • clone out the discoloraton
    • use the color changer, which worked on the gray pole, but I have trouble with my mother's hair and skin
    • I checked the color channels and the damage seems to be mainly on the blue channel

I'm really not quite sure where to go from here. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

ETA: I'm a beginner with photo programs. Until now I've always just done the basic auto contrast and auto levels. I'm learning the proper terms and tools, but I'm still a novice and will appreciate having the tips explained to me like I'm a kindergartener. ;-)
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Belita; 12-08-2010, 06:44 PM.

Re: Restoring Stains on Color Photo

hi belita and welcome to RP.

before you try to fix the color you're going to have to restore the damaged areas or your color treatment wont be worth much. the photo is heavily backlit putting part of her face into heavy shadow and that's the main problem here. the shadow was so great that there's no detail left in parts of the face. it's just all black in spots (see attached). so, you're going to have to rebuild first.
    Attached Files

Comment

Thank you, Kraellin!