WTK: Filed Negative Carrier in Photoshop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WTK: Filed Negative Carrier in Photoshop

I would like to create a sloppy type border similar to a Filed Negative Carrier in the film based photo world.

There are products out there that will create "sloppy" frames but I would like to do it myself with Photoshop (7).

So, can anyone give me pointers on creating a digital filed negative carrier effect for my borders / frames?

Welcome to RetouchPro,

You could try - if you have a neg holder scan it in an liquify it to the shape you want. (filters-liquify)

Hope this helps

Clare

Comment

I don't have access to anything like that. I'm a digital based photographer only. It would be nice to have access to this equipment

Comment

Will this image help?

Filed negative carrier image

Comment

I really like your # 5 border

This is exactly what I'm looking for on the digital side.

Can you help? How would I re-create such a thing in Photoshop?

Comment

Ultravista,

Sorry that I didn't clarify my message -- it's not my website -- just found it while looking for an answer for you.

Not sure how to get that exact effect. I'd just make a dark frame and use different filters to smudge it up a bit -- the marks on it might have to be copied from the web image -- perhaps you could make a brush out of the mark outline.

Comment

Someone suggested using a displacement map and it does mess the stroked frame up. Now I have to find a good texture to apply.

Comment

ultravista, if you do end up creating this look, PLEASE post back here and let me know how to do it. I have been looking for this effect for a long time and would love to know how to do it! Thanks and good luck...

Comment

Don't know if this is exactly what you're looking for, but here's how I made it:

1. enlarged the canvas (white)

2. made a new layer

3. on the new layer, drew a black box with a very rough "stippling" brush (I set guides to keep my lines fairly straight)