Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie - scanning & restoring albumen prints

Hi,

I'm a newbie - not just to this forum but to scanning and restoring photos. So, please be "gentle" with me as I don't understand a lot of the terms used in the posts or tutorials on the site!

I am scanning some old photos, most from the 1860s, and trying to restore them (for personal use) using PSP7. The tintypes aren't giving me too much trouble, but the albumen prints are awful! I would appreciate any advice on how to proceed with these to get some good images. The biggest problem that I'm having is that the photos are so faded. When I adjust the contrast or use fade correction in PSP, then the paper texture, foxing, etc. are extremely apparent on the entire photo.

I am scanning the photos on my ScanJet 5370C as true color at a resolution of 300 dpi. Most of the photos are 2.5 x 4, but I am resizing them on the scanner to an approximate 4x6 size. I tried scanning them in as grey scale (hoping for maybe a clear black and white photo) but didn't get better results.

What am I doing wrong, and what can I do about all the spotting, texture, etc?

I'm attaching a sample photo that has only been scanned and not retouched.

Thanks so much for any help.
    Catherine
    Attached Files

Hi,

First I would always recommend scanning an image into Photoshop in a completely unaltered state. There is nothing the scanning software can do that PS cant do so it is better to start with an image's complete unaltered data. Make sure your scanner is set to do nothing in the way of data manipulation such as auto exposure, auto color or contrast control, no color correction or profiles etc. Then make sure your monitor is close to accurate. That way you can work in PS to correct what you need.