In a pickle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In a pickle

Take a look at the original. The red channel has gone haywire. I found this in a newsgroup full of random photos. So its jpeg quality was really bad to start.
    I took a stab at it but my result looks pasty. This is with zero painting. Strictly slider control manipulation. I used a gradiant mask to bland into the better part of the original. To me it looks better because at least you don't have all this red staring you in the face hiding some detail. I pretty much had to kill the red channel. In this case I adjusted the red channels contrast to closely mimic the "better half's red channel. Then something possed me to invert my duplicate layers red channel. I don't know why but you see my result
    Anyway....IF this was a good quality image what would you do to fix that redness. Prefereably I am looking for answers that don't involve major painting skill. I am no brush artist. You can imagine...in black and white...problem solved. But that shouldn't be a first choice.

Pete
    Attached Files

If you have Katrin Eismann's Photoshop Restoration & Retouching, it covers photos like this (starts on p. 210 in the second edition). I'll plug the book, it's really good.

Alternately, there's a photo kind of like this in Retouch Challenge #17. Some of the techniques used by people there might be helpful.

I agree that a gradient channel seems to be the way to go here.

Comment

Cool I'll check out the challenge and this weekend I look for the bokk or similar in the store.
      Pete

Comment

Thanks Hephaestos,
        I had thought about copying a good color channel to the bad one. I even tried it. But with not so great results. Reading the workflow for one of the challengers in challenge 17 I came up with the attached. Still, the colors look pasty though. But its better than the original
        Attached Files

Comment