Color Wheel vs Color Spectrum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Color Wheel vs Color Spectrum

Hi Folks- I am a newbie to Retouchpro-(Not to Photoshop, however)

There seem to be a few math (and maybe science) geeks out here so I figured I'd toss this out to you.

The color spectrum seems to be a linear model with ever decreasing wavelengths as you climb up the spectrum.

Red-Yellow-Green-Blue-Violet

However, we can predictively add colors with a "wheel" model.
    It seems intuitive that Yellow and green would produce Blue-the average of the 2 wavelengths of energy.

But.....how come mixing Red and Blue does not produce some average of those wavelengths? (a yellowish-green)

Instead, it produces a Magenta (Violet-like?) color.

It's as if our eyes and brains are wired to see a linear physical reality (the spectrum) as if it were joined at the ends so that it forms a circle.

Does this seem strange to anyone else or should I just "let it go?"
    Cheers
    Bob

I understand where you're coming from, Bob. But I don't have an answer for you, so I'll just say "Welcome to RP".

Ed

Comment

The color wheel works because the human eye RGB cones aren't quite R,G, and B. Very roughly-speaking, the blue cones see from about violet to green (with a peak in the middle of blue.) The green cones see from about blue to red (with a peak in green). The red cone sees from green to red (with a peak in the yellow/orange range), but it also has a passband up at violet. This latter property is key because it means the red cone essentially completes the circle by sensing the shortest wavelength violets in addition to reds thus overlapping with the short-wavelength side of blue.