How much drop shadow?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much drop shadow?

I really like earrings floating on white, or maybe with just a tiny bit of shadow at the bottom of the lower earring, but several have told me to anchor more distinctly.

I've looked at the jewelry sites that were recommended as having very good technique, and the shadows vary drastically from one site to another.

Opinions, please. Be gentle, I'm a beginner.
    Attached Files

Re: How much drop shadow?

I like what you did. It looks natural. I shoot jewelry.

Comment

I would angle the shadow more, so it looks like it standing abit up from the white...that gives more depth...IMO

Gerry

Comment

Originally posted by superkoax View Post
        I would angle the shadow more, so it looks like it standing abit up from the white...that gives more depth...IMO

Gerry
        Also, Shadows get darker as they approach the point where the object comes in contact with the ground. I always use at least two layers for a drop shadow.

Comment

I couldn't get it out very far, and I couldn't figure out how to get it to feather out. DUH...more layers!

(Slaps head..)

Comment

I like to use Andromeda's Shadow filter, a lot of possibilities
            Attached Files

Comment

Originally posted by superkoax View Post

Gerry
              I really don't like Drop Shadows spread out very far. As they go far, the shadow tends to grow, go blur or light, and get out of shape. If you don't follow this natural fact, then your image would look artificial. This makes the shadow more attractive than the original image. Therefore, I agree with superkoax to make the image pop up. With closer Drop Shadows, you can also give emboss effect.

Comment

What does the image itself need to make it pop up?

Do I transform the shadow to angle it?

Could I have opinions on the overall image quality?

I have more respect each day for you guys who have gotten a handle on Photoshop. It's a lake with no bottom!