Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GREYCstoration - Open source denoising algorithms

Cheers everyone,

I'm an aspiring photographer, still new to the world of photoshop, so I would like to introduce myself. Hopefully by pointing something new and useful. I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this program:
    http://cimg.sourceforge.net/greycsto...stration.shtml

Link goes to the demonstration page. You can also download the program for free as well. Some of the examples look very impressive. What do you guys think?

Greg

PS. I hope it is somewhat new to some of you guys at least ;-)

Greg

Re: GREYCstoration - Open source denoising algorit

Hello Greg and welcome to RP.

Interesting stuff; news to me. Have you given it a go yet?

Comment

Yes I have. Just playing around.

I used to do a lof of black and white photography, sometimes when you make a mistake (ehem.. do it on purpose of course) with the temperature of the developer you'll get very grainy results.

I've tried the greyc program on one of those photos. It's slow, and it takes several iterations and some trial and error to get decent results, but once you get them.. they're amazing.

I don't think it's ready to be part of a regular workflow, because of the speed and inconvenience of using it (saving to tiff, running external program, figuring out proper parameters, etc). Still, it may be the best way to save certain "special" images when the alternative is to just about reconstruct everyting. At least it can come up with a decent starting point for further reconstruction.

Comment

Nice to have alternative tools in your toolbag. Thx for additional info.

Comment

Related Topics

Collapse

• grumpy31
          Help!..Which program is best for me?
          by grumpy31
          I just stumbled onto this amazing site and hope it can solve my dilemma!..