Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First Retouch- Feedback Greatly Appreciated!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Retouch- Feedback Greatly Appreciated!

Hello!

I have just recently joined RetouchPRO. After producing music for the last decade or so, I decided to return to school @ the U of M to get a Graphic Design degree. I have recently taken a great interest in retouching, and I've been studying this art extensively for the last 3 months or so.

I found an online contest (Editable Photos), and decided to give it a shot. The image was provided by them. This is my first attempt at a beauty retouch. I would really appreciate feedback.

Lastly, I'd just like to mention how impressed I am with this site, and how all of you help each other out. You are awesome! It's really inspiring, not to mention helpful in the biggest way.

Image link:
    http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/h...reandAfter.jpg

Happy New Year!
    Mike

Re: First Retouch- Feedback Greatly Appreciated!

I just noticed I posted this in the wrong area. How do I delete a thread?!

Comment

I like it a lot. I think you did a really good job. Small critiques - perhaps somewhat subjective... I don't like the top right hair with the big swoop. Prefer some loose strands. If going to fill in with all dark tone, I would take it all the way out - no small corner of background -same with back left edge.

I would like to see some further work on the hand - right around the base of the heel area. Just smooth out a tad more.

I really like the skin tones. Makes her look more Asian - not sure if she is or if that was your intended outcome - but it really works.

Comment

Thank you! I really appreciate the feedback. The small critiques help me out. I may just rework a few things in those areas and see what I can come up with. I see what you're talking about, though.