Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is a plugin a sin?

Hey guys!

Totally new here and this is my first post so bear that in mind if I accidentally offend

I'm a photographer who has an interest in retouching (as another string to the bow), and I've been practising for 2 years now, trying to incorporate the proper techniques (split frequency, pixel level dodge & burn etc). In this time I've come across a few plugins for skin retouching and natural curiosity has had me try them out. Rubbish! Plastic skin etc.

Now, I'm just wondering if, as professional retouchers you would deviate from the path of intensive hours-long dodging and burning IF there was a plugin that could cut out some of the work?

The reason I ask is, i was told about a plugin - Totally Rad Pro Retouch 2.0 - by a friend. Rolled my eyes as per usual but tried it out. Really surprised. Seemed to get me from stage 1 to stage 5 in 10 minutes with all skin looking really good and toned and with a small amount of d&b to do to bring it somewhere near very decent.

Now, I'd prefer not to unintentionally rubbish the techniques that have got retouching where it is and I can spend 8 hours on an image trying to get it just right. And I enjoy it. Just wondered if you thought cutting a few of them hours out was a good idea or a cheap shortcut?

Re: Is a plugin a sin?

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

To answer your question, I believe there is nothing illegal about using an external plugin for retouching work (provided that you pay for it...).
    As long as retouching is your hobby, your main drive should be quality and fun. If you can save a few hours while keeping the same quality, why not? But if the plugin results are worse, then you should stay away.