Herb Ritts style help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Herb Ritts style help

Hello everyone, I am a photographer and I learned the basics at school but right now I would like to really get my pictures into looking like Vogue shots etc, I've learned some techniques online, it's very hard to look for this online because the tutorials just don't work the same. The result is not the same. Where do these people go to school to learn this?? It's unbelievable.

Anyway, I really like the style of Herb Ritts and that is what I try to incorporate, right now I am retouching a series of photos that I would like to look like this: http://radiosrq.com/wp-content/uploads/4-Herb-Ritts.jpg or close. Obviously my shots don't have the same light situation but I just can't get them to look anywhere near that. I tried simulating a red filter on photoshop for black and white but apparently you can't do that on a black and white file?? It's strange.

I opened the Herb Ritts image on photoshop and all the tones are within the 5% for whites and 95% for blacks which is what I always try to do but somehow the end result is nowhere near that. I'd appreciate any help, thanks.

Re: Herb Ritts style help

Originally posted by blohan View Post
    Obviously my shots don't have the same light situation but I just can't get them to look anywhere near that.
    There is your problem. Apart from that, lowering the red and yellow values in black and white adjustment layer might get you closer.

Comment

Originally posted by skoobey View Post
      There is your problem. Apart from that, lowering the red and yellow values in black and white adjustment layer might get you closer.
      I know what you mean but I don't think that's the problem, all of his pictures have that dark gray skin tone and very matte highlights, even if the lighting is different, that's what I want, a fine art look.

How do I alter those values? I only have the gray channel

Comment