Blending skin tones, Help please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blending skin tones, Help please!

Hi all, I'm new here, just joined this morning, I've joined this forum because I started learning retouching in January, and I feel i could learn a lot from like minded people.

I am very very stuck on one particular thing when it comes to retouching, and that is blending skin tones. For example, I am currently working on an image where the model has uneven skin tone, and some red blotchy patches, my images is a RAW file and a close in beauty shot, so of course the skin tone matters for this particular style of image.

I've tried building the skin tone with a 5% opacity brush, it just doesn't look good in my opinion.
    I have cloned on an empty layer with a soft brush and 30% opacity, doesn't work either and I have tried other opacities.
    I cannot seem to work out gradient maps, how confusing!!

I feel like I've reached a dead end to be honest, this makes me sad.

I use the frequency separation technique, is there anything I am missing to blend skin tones using this technique or any other?

I've wanted to try the dodge and burn retouching technique but I don't want to learn that until I've learned F.S properly, as I still haven't completed any image to a standard that I am happy with.

Any advice/techniques/tutorials will be a blessing!!

Thanks so much

Re: Blending skin tones, Help please!

Good place to start would be to present us with the image(via link, posting here results in really low quality), or a portion of the image that you find problematic.

Gradient map really is something you do here and there, rarely all over, but let's first deal with the tones.

Comment

Hey Thanks so much for your reply, here is the link to the unedited image so you can see the problems I am having. Thank you.

http://postimg.org/image/6v8qqxf5v/

Please do let me know if there are any problems with the link.

Comment