Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Halo on Frequency Separation for Cutout Images

Hey all,

Newbie here, but a fairly experienced journeyman in retouching. However, this problem is new to me, and has proved perplexing thus far. I was doing a frequency separation on a portrait, but unlike previous images, I had cut this image of the girl out of her background, so she resides on a layer cutout without background or fill/bg color. I noticed once I set up the frequency sep, the high layer gives a gnarly halo around the cutout image.

My question is, is this because the FS was done on a cutout image, and is there anyway to correct for this that doesn't involved adding fill color to the cutout?

Appreciate any insight on this.

Re: Halo on Frequency Separation for Cutout Images

That is the expected behavior given your depiction. Ignoring the underlying goals of fs, it uses gaussian blur or some other blur on one layer. If you do that to any image with some fully transparent pixels, you will have some bleed. That's not unexpected.

You get around this somewhat by using a layer mask on the layer containing the girl. Make other adjustments as needed. Blur the outline by 1 pixel if it's too harsh. Check to make sure you don't compromise the transparency of the girl anywhere.

Comment

Use surface blur instead.

Comment

You should put a split into a masked group. Deleting pixels instead of using masks is not a good workflow.

Comment

Originally posted by 8BPixelLab View Post
          Hey all,

Newbie here, but a fairly experienced journeyman in retouching. However, this problem is new to me, and has proved perplexing thus far. I was doing a frequency separation on a portrait, but unlike previous images, I had cut this image of the girl out of her background, so she resides on a layer cutout without background or fill/bg color. I noticed once I set up the frequency sep, the high layer gives a gnarly halo around the cutout image.