Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for help retouching products

Hi everyone,

I've just discovered this forum and I'm looking for some advice. I'm a photographer looking to learn re-touching for product photography. Jewelery, in particular I am finding really difficult. I have tried to attach some images I'm hoping it works if not there is more of my work that can be seen here:
    http://s1064.photobucket.com/user/ro...ewelery?sort=3

I am doing the basic healing and cloning on the images but I get confused when it comes to which blur or noise filter I should use. I am using adjustment layers for all of it so I can affect just part of the image. I'm just not sure where I should go to find out how to learn this type of retouching work. So any advice or help if greatly appreciated.
    Attached Files

Re: Looking for help retouching products

There is no blur. I assume you know how the jewelry is shot with multiple light set ups and multiple focus planes for a single image, open aperture, shallow DOF etc...

For retouching - no blur. Pen tool for masking, Micro painting, cloning and DNB. Add noise as desired/need for the area or an entire shot.

Comment

I haven't retouched jewellery in years but I remember clients being really fussy about the precious stones. They want to see every cut facet well defined and each stone defined against the mount. Ugly metal reflections need to be removed which can be quite tricky inside the hoops - shiny metal or brushed/satin metals should retain their inherent reflective qualities and sometimes you have to add that with a brush. Mass market stuff needs a more production line approach. Lots of USM, Dust and scratches filter etc. Generally, your products are quite small within the picture which adds another dimension of clarity - perhaps less busy backgrounds or subtle halo lighting would help the products 'pop'. Yessir, you can burn a lot of hours retouching jewellery!

Comment