Frequency Separation "high" layer acting weird

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frequency Separation "high" layer acting weird

I'm quite new at retouching, but I've never encountered this. I'm practicing basic frequency separation and since yesterday, the High layer is showing weirdness when I clone stamp or use the healing brush. (2 attached screen shots) In both these images I exaggerated the use of the clone stamp, so hopefully you can see.
    My settings in creating FS layers have not changed, since this started happening. I cannot think of what is wrong. Does anyone have a suggestion? Thanks.
    Attached Files

Re: Frequency Separation "high" layer acting weird

Change "Current and below" to "Current layer"

Comment

Thank you. That took care of one aspect, but now the clone stamp effect is almost the opposite - VERY faded. The mode is set to normal. And opacity and flow set at 100.

Comment

It clones what you have on "high" layer.

Comment

ditch frequency separation and invest in Timothy Sexton Lynda courses

Comment

Related Topics

Collapse

• baryon
            Frequency separation: Really non-destructive?
            by baryon
            I have recently been experimenting with frequency separation, using the Apply Image method to create a "blurred" layer and a high frequency one.

I absolutely love the amount of control you get when cloning directly on the high frequency layer: it's not something you can normally...
            09-08-2013, 02:17 PM
          • Caravaggio
            question about frequency separation method
            by Caravaggio
            I like the frequency separation technique and am starting to use it and get more familiar with it. The only problem I have is where areas of extremely strong contrast meet or "edges". If I clone over those areas on the high frequency layer, it introduces a tonal change into the image when...
            02-18-2011, 03:53 PM
          • fraiseap