Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diamond Needs Color

Hello Retouchers,

Nice to find this forum. I've spent my day hemming and hawing over an image and would love to have input on. My primary photo retouching is done on digital images that I have taken of jewelry. I am relatively new to this but have enough experience to make a pleasant photograph for the web and small print. I just completed a engagement ring set. It was very time consuming and difficult all around but I learned some new tricks so it was worth it. Here is the problem. When the client looked at the image she said that diamonds refract light in the form of color and that this image does not show the color refraction. She then sent me an example of what she meant. I've spent a little time fidgeting with adding color to this diamond but have not come up with anything that I'm satisfied with. Does anybody have suggestions? I'm fairly comfortable with Photoshop and its lingo so feel free to get technical. Attached is my image (the 1st one) and hers (the second).

Thanks, El
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Eleanor; 04-14-2005, 05:58 PM.

Added a multicolour fill in overlay mode at 60% opacity.

Christine
    Attached Files

Comment

Did rough selection round stone. Created new layer. Created multi colour radial gradient and set blend mode to Soft Light, reduced opacity to 10% and blurred using Gaussian blur.
      Attached Files

Comment

Hi El,

As near as I can tell from the picture you were sent there were three lights: a white primary key, an amber gelled fill and a green gelled fill. (Amber and green cancel each other out except in the highlights.)

To try to get a similar effect I did three things:

1. Added a gradient map, blended with color, merged with a copy of the original, blured, masked. This new layer should be blended with color.
        2. Duplicate original layer and ran curves to look like the image below, blured, masked, and blended with color.