Lost my CDROM and CDRW

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lost my CDROM and CDRW

Please help if you can.I've had nothing but problems since I installed Windows XP.Had to install the system 3 times in 2 weeks.Now I lost my CDROM and CDRW after tried to burn some photos I've tried some sugestions from the ZD Net forums,but no luck.So far I've lost all the work I did on several photos as I don't backup work in progress on cds,but have the originals on cds,but can not get them back without a CDROM.I just want to get back to learning again.

I wish I could help, Don. I just popped in to say I hope you find a solution.

Other than asking if you have the correct drivers in place, I don't know anything about dead CD-ROM drives.

Good luck...

Comment

Don, I'm not a techie, but let's give the techies here some more information to see if they can help you.

After your last re-installation of XP, did you find that you had lost access to your CD-ROM, or was it working for a while after the last install? What exactly was happening when you discovered that it wasn't working? Had it given you any problems before your last XP install? Any problems before you first installed XP? Why did you install XP -- just to upgrade your OS, or to solve a system problem?

Comment

Hi Don,

to get some more info on what could be going on, try this:
        go to Control Panel click on System then in there go to the Hardware section and click on Device Manager. When you've got to the Device Manager, click "DVD/CD ROM drives" which'll display your CD and CDRW drives. now right click the drive and select properties. if they are working correctly you'll get this message
        "This device is working properly.

If you are having problems with this device, click Troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter."

this should at least give you more to go on.

- David

Comment

Hi guys & gals.Thank you for your concern.
          CJ, the reason for the reinstalls: